Date Posted
25th Mar 2019

Papamoa Win McNaughton Trophy Under Lights at The Bay Oval

Papamoa won the McNaughton Trophy, on a beautiful autumn evening at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui - when they defeated the Greerton Sikh XI, in front of the biggest crowd seen at club cricket in the Western Bay for many a day.

The McNaughton Trophy is effectively the Baywide Reserve Grade Championship, open to all Bay of Plenty Reserve and B Grade teams, throughout the region.

Papamoa won the toss and immediately elected to bat in the day/nighter, that saw the first game of Bay of Plenty club cricket played out under the lights. Openers Mark Divehall and Aaron Barbour got their side away to a flyer, blasting 39 without loss, in the first five overs.

Skipper Divehall was the first to go for 51. Enter Andrew Goldsmith, who smashed a half-century of just 37 balls, in a knock that contained six 4’s and two shots over the boundary ropes.

The dismissal of Goldsmith in the 32nd over, saw the Sikh bowlers apply the brakes a little to the Papamoa attempts to hit out. It was left to Aaron Barbour to anchor his sides total, of 213 for the loss of three wickets, with the Papamoa opening batsmen carrying his bat to 67 not out off 119 balls.

The Greerton batsmen strode to the wicket with real purpose, needing 5.35 runs an over to win the Baywide trophy. While they were in front of the required run rate, they lost their first wicket at the 14 run mark and when opener Raghav Solgotra went for 26, they were two down for 48 which quickly became 3/52.

Amrit Singh took up the challenge to belt 54, at a tad over a run a ball, before the Papamoa bowlers tightened the screws, to dismiss the Singh XI for 185 with four overs to spare. Aaron Barbour backed up his batting heroics to take three wickets for 38 runs, sitting on a hat-trick, at one stage in his eight overs.

There was little discussion required for the Man of the Match award - being presented to Aaron Barbour, who top scored for his team and took three vital wickets that swung the game in Papamoa’s favour.

BOPCA McNaughton Trophy Final @ Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui 22 March 2019

Papamoa 214/3 (Aaron Barbour 67no, Mark Divehall 51, Andrew Goldsmith 50) defeated Greerton Sikh XI 185 (Amrit Singh 54, Raghav Solgotra 16; Aaron Barber 3/38)