Date Posted
27th Feb 2019

McNaughton Trophy Final To Be Played Under Lights At The Bay Oval

Match Takes Place Thursday 21st March

A completely new experience awaits Papamoa and the Greerton Sikh XI, who won through to contest the 2019 Mc Naughton Trophy Final, with the title decider being played as a day/nighter under lights at the Bay Oval.

The kind support and approval from the Bay Oval Trust management, will see the first ball of the McNaughton Final bowled at 4pm on Thursday 21st March 2019, at the Mount Maunganui ground.

The two finalists were found in the semi-final action played out on Sunday 24th February 2019, at Fergusson Park.

Aquinas College batted first against Papamoa who were drawn from Papamoa Cricket Clubs three B Grade teams. Darcy Hosking was the best of the Aquinas students batting line-up with 15 runs, as they were dismissed for 96. Regan Collins was the pick of the Papamoa combined sides bowlers taking four wickets for 15 runs. Guy Wilkins captured three bowling scalps at a cost of 15 runs.

Papamoa lost three wickets at the 21 run mark, before the arrival of Andrew Goldsmith at the wicket. The Papamoa batsman went on the rampage to take his side to victory, smashing an unbeaten 60 of just 28 balls. The whirlwind innings contained, six 4’s and five 6’s, at a strike rate of 214 (per hundred balls).

The Greerton Sikh team eliminated their Greerton club mates from the McNaughton semi-finals. Batting first, Greerton made slow work of batting first and were restricted to 110, for the loss of eight wickets, in their allotted forty overs. Matt Earl was the only batsmen to reach to twenties, with three Sikh bowlers taking two wickets apiece.

The Greerton Indian representatives had to work hard for their passage to the McNaughton Grand Final, with victory coming in the 34th over for the loss of seven wickets. Amritpal Singh top scored with 27, while Rashpal Cheema took his team to the title decider with an unbeaten 26 runs.

BOPCA McNaughton Trophy Semi-Finals 24th February 2019

Aquinas College 96 (Regan Collins 4/15, Guy Wilkins 3/15, Danny Pokai 2/30) lost to Papamoa 99/3 (Andrew Goldsmith 60no; Finn Dempsey 2/29)

Greerton 110/8 (Matt Earl 20; JP Singh 2/12, G Singh 2/17, G Singh 2/43) lost to Greerton Sikh XI 112/7 (Amritpal Singh 27, Rashpal Cheema 26no; Scott Drabble 4/25)